Experiments in moblogging

Although I enjoy blogging and using social network sites like Facebook, I’ve often been embarrassed by my complete inability to figure out how to use my cell phone.

I just recently figured out how to TXT. I knew how to take pictures, but I didn’t know how to download them. When I found Flickr’s moblogging, or mobile photoblogging feature (by randomly clicking on the ‘blog this’ link over a photo) it was a great help.

My successful and unsuccessful efforts to moblog can be seen below. The post titled 1211081925jpg is a cell phone shot of my walk through Little Korea last night, sent through my Flickr site.

From Flickr’s help site:

You can also upload your camera phone photos to an outside blog. First, set up the blog (see the Blogs FAQ section for help). Then register a unique email upload address to post to your blog. Photos emailed to that address will be blogged automatically. When you’re auto-blogging, the subject line of the email is used as the title, and the body is posted as the photo description.

I didn’t use a blackberry to send the photo. My phone is very lo-tech: there’s no video, no typepad. It’s great to be able to insta-blog photos from such a simple phone.

However, it would be nice to have a title that’s more evocative than 1211081925. I wasn’t sure how to change the title, so I tried naming a second photo (of me experimenting with indoor shots) before sending it out.

That didn’t work, as you can see in my post titled 1211081145

So I had to actually read the directions. Again, from Flickr’s help page:

When you’re auto-blogging, the subject line of the email is used as the title, and the body is posted as the photo description.

So, I did what they said, and posted Moblogging 3. Success!

About marypmadigan

Writer/photographer (profession), foreign policy wonk (hobby).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

