Where am I?

Google knows. Google always knows…

Find Yourself on Google Latitude Without GPS (or a Phone)

Google Latitude is a useful–if slightly creepy–way to track your location on a mobile phone or GPS laptop. But you can get roughly the same sense of fleeting privacy on any old Wi-Fi PC; Google Latitude automatically pegged me within about 100 feet of my ground-floor office on GPS-free laptop.

The process works through Skyhook’s Wi-Fi mapping and triangulation technology. The results aren’t as accurate as a clear GPS signal; I’ve been misplaced in some neighborhoods by about a half-mile, and Wi-Fi locating is useless in rural areas without a network. But it adds another trick to Google Latitude for free.

About marypmadigan

Writer/photographer (profession), foreign policy wonk (hobby).
This entry was posted in Singularity. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where am I?

  1. Bruce Parker says:

    google maps on most phones will do this already, though again not very accurately as it just gets you to the nearest cell tower.

  2. marypmadigan says:

    I don’t think I’ll sign up for this, because it is, as the writer notes, a little creepy. Besides, I have my camera..

Leave a Reply

