Stimmt!

From Multilinguals Have Multiple Personalities | The New Republic:

I understand the feeling. My not-so-fluent French “self” is most comfortable talking about classroom supplies. It’s surprising, though, that people who are actually fluent in two languages also feel their personality shifting as they switch between languages. Yet researchers have confirmed this: Between 2001 and 2003, linguists Jean-Marc Dewaele and Aneta Pavlenko asked over a thousand bilinguals whether they “feel like a different person” when they speak different languages. Nearly two-thirds said they did.

This is true for me. In German I’m a mom who bakes brioche and can cook up a goose. In French, I’m an art student. I don’t speak much Spanish, but when I do, I feel like dancing ..

About marypmadigan

Writer/photographer (profession), foreign policy wonk (hobby).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

